Interview with filmmaker Pablo Nieto Straight-Jacket Guerrilla Film Festival

The Valley Of Stone Rivers will premier at the Straight-Jacket Guerrilla Film Festival

How did you get into making films? 
I am an engineer. I started making noise and experimental music with electronics, making several video clips for my compositions, I also made several multimedia installations and then studied a bit of audiovisual production to later make this my first feature film using what I learned in past times. 

What inspired you to make your movie? 
The Valley of Mexico where I live, previously was a city founded on several lakes, the passage of time was transforming the water into concrete, but how was the process? To answer this question, I approached my grandmother, mother and other elderly people to learn about their experiences, recognizing in their stories part of the hidden memory of how a city and the ecosystem is transformed was what inspired the film. 

How has your style evolved? 
My style has gone through various phases of experimentation, from working with found files and digital archiving, production with low-cost media such as web cameras, telephones and electronic devices, to audiovisual generation with algorithms. There is always something new to experience. 

Tell us any strange or funny stories while making the film? 
I started the project with a friend, almost finishing the shoot we had differences due to the way of working and the expectations of the project, we had to stop collaborating with him, which was sad and motivating at the same time to finish the film. 

The Misrule Film Movement & Pink8 manifesto bring what to mind? 
Appropriation of the media for the generation of new narratives and voices that break with the visual hegemony that currently reigns. 

What can we expect from your next film? 
They should not expect anything